The Poem With No Name

For this Tuesday, I’m doing a little poetry. Enjoy!

It Will Won’t Will Won’t Be Okay

I have reached the end

Of the earth

I have sailed past the world’s wonders

I have finished all of my work.

Here on the edge

There is darkness to an indefinite depth

Heat from a fire fierce and enduring

And a distinct feeling of death.

My body is ready to fail

To tumble into the pit

Scarred and beaten by the journey

It would only take one more hit.

I feel destined to become dust

Carried away by the wind

Free from the world’s weight

Released from all of my sin.

This is a trial

I am not meant to survive

It is an event

That must be faced with no shield or disguise.

With the last of my courage

I plunge into the flames

Everything becomes ash

The time has come for change.

I fall away from this life

Only to rise

Ascending into a new body

Free from pretension or disguise.

Feeling new and powerful

I return once more to earth

My old self discarded

On this date of my second birth.

The life of a phoenix

Is one of glory and pain

It begins with the view of the light above

It ends with the view of nothing below in flame.

As the cycle begins again

I fly across the sea

The world’s wonders return once more

And I begin to feel free.

The past trails behind me

Burning away in a stream of smoke

All that remains of the old life

Filled with the memories, lessons, and words I spoke.

My life could never continue

If my time never came to an end.

My eyes find the ground

I take a deep breath and descend.

Leave a Reply

